Genealogy Links

Cyndi's List: cyndislist.com
Links to 1000s of genealogy sites.

Online programs

Ancestry: ancestry.com

Family Search: familysearch.org
Set up a free family tree and search records. Run by LDS/Mormon church.

Rootsweb: rootsweb.com
Free site to research family history.

WikiTree: wikitree.com
Genealogists aiming to make a world family tree. Free.

Software

Family Tree Maker: mackiev.com/ftm/
Put your family tree on your own computer. Requires Ancestry account.

Roots Magic: rootsmagic.com
Genealogy and family tree maker. $30 price range.

Brother's Keeper: bkwin.org
A free software program to run on your own computer. Free.

Videos

Ancestry Academy
These videos cover everything from beginning steps through more advanced topics such as DNA.

Good starting videos
The basics of how to start your tree.

Other Databases

US GenWeb: usgenweb.org
Free genealogy help for every US state.

Find A Grave: findagrave.com
Search 159 million grave records. Free.

Dead Fred: deadfred.com
Search through 1000s of photos.

Death Indexes: deathindexes.com
Links to websites with online death indexes, listed by state and county.

Miscellany

Archaic Medical Terms: archaicmedicalterms.com
A collection of archaic medical terms and their old and modern definitions.

Megan Smolenyak: megansmolenyak.com
Genealogical adventurer and storyteller.

Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter: blog.eogn.com
One of the oldest genealogy newsletters.

Genealogical Studies genealogicalstudies.com
Various courses from basic to advanced.